Skip to main content

Pre-Arrival/Pre-Departure Processing


A relevant tool to facilitate trade

With the pace of modern business accelerating day by day, the demand for faster delivery of consignments increases considerably. The needs of traders for expeditious clearance can no longer be met by traditional paper-based customs procedures. The volume of trade continues to increase, while the resources available to customs authorities have remained static. Therefore, modernisation of customs procedures through automation and risk-based selectivity are inevitable to expedite the release of goods.  With this approach customs and border agencies change their strategy from full physical cargo inspection towards targeted inspections based on risk and information management.

One shipment – many data

Within any given international trade transaction, the relevant data for a particular shipment starts to be generated with the purchase order, sometimes even before the goods are being manufactured. This data is complemented by the commercial invoice issued by the seller or supplier of the goods and by relevant transport documentation (e.g. the bill of lading). All this information is available electronically at the time when these commercial and transport contracts are concluded. Hence, long before the actual importation of the goods in the destination country. These commercial documents are being supplemented by any relevant official document such as licenses, health certificates or certificates of origin. Many of these documents are also by now available in electronic form, or where that is not the case can be submitted electronically as a scan copy.

All these data can already be used by the importer to prepare the import declaration. The carrier or freight forwarder for his/her part can start preparing the relevant cargo declaration, which is required prior to arrival.

Definition and relevance of Pre-Arrival Processing

Pre-Arrival Processing (PAP) involves the (electronic) submission of the relevant goods and/or cargo declaration data to the relevant authorities prior to the arrival of goods. It enables automated processing of data, screening through risk management and release upon arrival of low-risk consignments. It is an important tool to facilitate trade. Traders profit from faster delivery, customs authorities can allocate resources more effectively and the economy of the  country is strengthened.

PAP is particularly important for certain groups of goods being very sensitive to the earliest possible release from customs. These may be for example shipments with a high value and/or with a critical delivery time. They cover urgent consignments of spare parts, production inputs, medicines, perishable goods, samples for testing etc. The COVID-19 pandemic has demonstrated how essential the express delivery industry is for the cross-border supply of critical items such as medicines, vaccines, personal protective equipment and food. The express delivery channel remained the only available supply option for those necessary goods in many countries.

The express channel is also highly relevant for businesses: to meet document filing deadlines, to export faster and to keep pace with competition, to quickly import parts and to keep machinery operational when parts and other inputs are sourced from a range of third countries.

Implementation of the Trade Facilitation Agreement on Pre-Arrival Processing

The Trade Facilitation Agreement (TFA) of the World Trade Organization (WTO) has made risk-based pre-arrival processing (PAP) in Art. 7.1 in combination with Art. 7.4 an obligatory commitment on all its members. As per TFA the overall scope of PAP is focused on the arrival in the country of importation. However, best practice examples in some customs administrations show that the scope could be changed to mean processing of all relevant formalities including risk assessment prior to the arrival of the goods at the customs office of entry or exit. This means the arrival is not defined as arrival in the country, but as arrival at the customs office of entry or exit for release purposes.

As such the objective of PAP can be determined as to perform risk assessment as well as verification and validation of advance electronic information as contained in the cargo and customs declaration and the supporting documents. Thus, the assessment whether the shipment is regarded to be of low, medium or high risk is made by customs and all relevant border agencies prior to the shipment arriving at the customs office of entry/exit.

In the case of outbound PAP, the aim is to perform risk assessment and other forms of verification at the time when the export goods are still at the premises of the exporter. The outbound PAP can also be defined as pre-departure processing (PDP). This way, the physical examination (if so decided) can be performed prior to the goods being loaded into the container or onto the means of transport. This will help to avoid disruptions in the transport chain and help maintain the integrity of the shipment.

PDP would enable to release shipments assessed as low risk upon arrival and thereby reduce the time required for importation and exportation, hence reducing the costs and increasing the overall competitiveness of the export country.

The German Alliance for Trade Facilitation has different projects on the introduction of PAP in its portfolio – either already successfully closed or currently in implementation. 

Are you interested to learn more about digital tools in trade facilitation? Check out our factsheet:

Author: Dietmar Jost, Consultant, Dietmar Jost Consulting
Editor: Pia-Christine Binder, Specialist for Communication, German Alliance for Trade Facilitation

Bildquelle: TimeStopper – stock.adobe.com

More Topics

Pre-Arrival/Pre-Departure Processing
Definition and relevance of Pre-Arrival/Pre-Departure Processing – A major tool to facilitate cross-border trade
Authorised Economic Operator (AEO)
Definition and Relevance of „Authorised Economic Operator“ (AEO) Programmes – a risk-based approach to facilitate trade
Digitalisation
To move goods across borders you still need many paper-based documents. Digitalisation can help to make these processes more efficient and transparent.
giz-logo

Pre-Arrival/Pre-Departure Processing


Ein relevantes Instrument zur Erleichterung des Handels

Moderne Produktions- und Bestellprozesse werden täglich schneller. Daher steigen auch die Erwartungen an das Tempo der Warenabfertigung an den Grenzen. Der hohe Bedarf für eine schnelle Freigabe kann mit den bisherigen papierbasierten Zollverfahren nicht mehr gedeckt werden. Das internationale Handelsvolumen nimmt weiter zu, während die verfügbaren Kapazitäten der Grenzbehörden unverändert bleiben. Daher ist eine Modernisierung von Zollverfahren durch Automatisierung und risikobasierte Selektion unumgänglich. Mit diesem Ansatz stellen Zoll- und Grenzbehörden ihre Strategie von der physischen Frachtkontrolle auf risiko- und informationsbasierte Verfahren um.

Eine Warensendung – viele Daten

Für jede internationale Handelstransaktion werden relevante Daten einer bestimmten Sendung bereits mit der Bestellung generiert, manchmal sogar noch vor der Herstellung der Waren. Diese Daten werden durch die Handelsrechnung von dem/der Verkäufer*in oder Lieferant*in und durch relevante Transportdokumente ergänzt (z.B.  Frachtbrief). Sobald die Handels- und Beförderungsverträge geschlossen wurden, sind all diese Begleitinformationen bereits elektronisch verfügbar – also lange vor der tatsächlichen Einfuhr der Waren in das Bestimmungsland. Neben den Handelsdokumenten sind weitere amtliche Dokumente notwendig, wie z.B. Lizenzen, Gesundheits- oder Ursprungszeugnisse. Viele dieser amtlichen Nachweise liegen mittlerweile auch direkt in elektronischer Form vor oder können, wenn dies nicht der Fall ist, als Online-Kopie eingereicht werden.

Alle Informationen können bereits von dem/der Importierenden zur Erstellung der Einfuhranmeldung verwendet werden. Das Speditionsunternehmen kann mit der Erstellung der entsprechenden Frachtanmeldung beginnen, die vor der Ankunft erforderlich ist.

Definition und Relevanz von „Pre-Arrival Processing“

„Pre-Arrival Processing“ (PAP) (deutsch: Vorabfertigung) umfasst die (elektronische) Übermittlung relevanter Informationen an zuständige Behörden noch vor der physischen Ankunft der Waren. Es ermöglicht die automatische Verarbeitung von Daten, risikobasiertes Screening und die direkte Freigabe von konformen Sendungen. PAP ist ein wichtiges Instrument zur Erleichterung des Handels. Händler*innen profitieren von einer schnellen Lieferung, Zollbehörden können ressourcenschonender arbeiten und die allgemeine Wirtschaft des jeweiligen Landes wird gestärkt.

Für bestimmte Warengruppen, die frühestmöglich durch den Zoll freigegeben werden müssen, ist die Vorabfertigung besonders relevant. Dabei handelt es sich z.B. um Waren mit einem hohen Wert und/oder einer betrieblich kritischen Lieferfrist. Dazu gehören dringende Sendungen von Ersatzteilen, Produktions- und Arzneimitteln, verderblichen Waren, Proben für Tests usw. Die COVID-19-Pandemie hat gezeigt, wie wichtig der Expressdienst für die grenzüberschreitende Lieferung kritischer Güter wie Medikamente, Impfstoffe, persönliche Schutzausrüstung und Lebensmittel ist. Der Expressversand war in vielen Ländern die einzige Möglichkeit, sich mit diesen notwendigen Gütern zu versorgen. 

Expresssendungen sind auch für Unternehmen von großer Bedeutung: Um die Fristen für die Einreichung von Dokumenten einzuhalten, um durch schnelleren Export mit der Konkurrenz Schritt zu halten, und um die Produktion aufrechtzuerhalten, wenn Teile und andere Vorleistungen aus einer Reihe von Drittländern bezogen werden.

„Pre-Arrival Processing“ im Rahmen des Abkommens über Handelserleichterungen

Das Abkommen über Handelserleichterungen der Welthandelsorganisation hat PAP in Art. 7.1 in Kombination mit Art. 7.4 zu einer Verpflichtung für alle ihre Mitglieder gemacht. Gemäß dem Abkommen konzentriert sich PAP auf die Ankunft im Einfuhrland. Best-Practice-Beispiele in einigen Zollverwaltungen zeigen jedoch, dass der Anwendungsbereich alle relevanten Formalitäten umfasst, einschließlich der Risikobewertung vor dem Eintreffen der Waren bei der Einfuhr- oder Ausfuhrzollstelle. Dies bedeutet, dass die Ankunft nicht als Ankunft im Land, sondern als Ankunft bei der Einfuhr- oder Ausfuhrzollstelle zum Zwecke der Überlassung definiert wird.

Das Ziel besteht darin, die elektronischen Vorabinformationen aus der Fracht- und Zollanmeldung sowie aus den Begleitdokumente risikobasiert zu bewerten, zu überprüfen und zu validieren. Noch bevor die Sendung bei der Eingangs-/Ausgangszollstelle eintrifft, stufen der Zoll und alle zuständigen Grenzbehörden das Risiko als gering, mittel oder hoch ein.

Beim PAP für ausgehende Sendungen sollen die Risikobewertung und weitere Validierung der Informationen durchgeführt werden, wenn sich die Waren noch in den Räumlichkeiten des/der Exporteur*in befinden. Das PAP für ausgehende Sendungen kann auch als „Pre-Departure Processing“ (PDP) definiert werden. Beim PDP kann die Warenkontrolle (sofern diese beschlossen wurde) durchgeführt werden, bevor die Waren in den Container oder auf das Transportmittel verladen werden. Dies trägt dazu bei, Unterbrechungen in der Transportkette zu vermeiden und die Unversehrtheit der Sendung zu wahren.

Insgesamt kann so die Gesamtzeit für Ausfuhrformalitäten erheblich verkürzt werden, was wiederum die Kosten senkt und die allgemeine Wettbewerbsfähigkeit bei Exportwaren des Ausfuhrlandes erhöht werden.

Die Deutsche Allianz für Handelserleichterungen hat verschiedene Projekte zur Einführung von PAP in ihrem Portfolio – entweder bereits erfolgreich abgeschlossen oder derzeit in der Umsetzung.

Möchten Sie mehr über digitale Lösungen erfahren, die den Handel erleichtern? Werfen Sie einen Blick auf unser Factsheet:

Bildquelle: TimeStopper – stock.adobe.com

Weitere Themen

Digitalisierung
Im internationalen Handel werden immernoch viele Papier-Dokumente ausgetauscht. Digitalisierung kann diese Prozesse effizienter und transparenter machen.
Pre-Arrival/Pre-Departure Processing
Definition und Relevanz von „Pre-Arrival Processing“ (PAP) – einem relevanten Instrument zur Erleichterung des Handels.
Risikomanagement
Risikomanagement ist eines der sieben Grundprinzipien der Handelserleichterung. Dieser Fachartikel erklärt die Relevanz und Anwendung.
giz-logo