In Implementation
Asia
Cambodia, Sri Lanka

Digitising Global Maritime Trade

CONTEXT    

International trade is constantly growing. While the number of shipments increases every year, the capacity at the borders remains fairly the same. This puts a burden on customs and ports. Currently, the clearance processes in Cambodia and Sri Lanka rely mostly on paper documents. With growing quantities these paper-based procedures have reached their limits and hinder a faster flow of goods. Facilitating trade is important for Cambodia and Sri Lanka to keep up with global supply chains and to enhance their economic development.

The customs authorities of Cambodia and Sri Lanka receive relevant sea cargo information (e.g. cargo manifest, certificate of origin) 24 hours prior to the arrival of a container vessel. This leaves only a short period of time to perform all relevant checks to release the goods. However, all information is already known many weeks in advance to other parties in the supply chain, such as the exporters or shipping lines. Currently, this information is not shared with customs authorities. Thus, clearance processes cannot be planned ahead effectively. The inefficient handling of data leads to longer transit and handling times for companies and prevents a smooth flow of cargo – resulting in increased costs for businesses and customs itself.

WHAT WE DO

In the ‘Digitising Global Maritime Trade’ (DGMT) project, public and private sector partners work together to improve customs’ digital access to advance sea cargo information in Cambodia and Sri Lanka. The customs authorities can use this data to perform risk analysis and plan the clearing process of sea cargo prior to its arrival at the port. The core of the project is to provide advice on the design and implementation of digital procedures that allow for risk-based pre-arrival and pre-departure processing of sea cargo. The project activities can be divided into three components.

In Component 1 (completed) the new software ASYHUB Maritime was developed by the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD). The software enables the digital exchange of advance sea cargo information with the piloting customs authorities in Sri Lanka and Cambodia, who use ASYCUDAWorld, and shipping data platforms, such as TradeLens.  

After testing the setup of the ASYHUB system, piloting began and is currently in progress under Component 2. To ensure that the new digital processes meet all requirements, the customs authorities’ current organisational and operational environment is analysed. The analysis also includes the IT infrastructure in place and the country’s regulatory framework. The next step after the assessment is to deploy a bespoke version of the software to the customs authorities’ operational environment.

The piloting involves trainings for customs officers as well private sector stakeholders submitting cargo declarations. Across all activities the project facilitates the exchange between public and private sector stakeholders as changes in existing processes are to be accepted and implemented later on by both sides.

The TradeLens platform, which covers more than a half of global containerised trade, has been engaged as one of the project partners from the beginning. Within the project, TradeLens provides advance sea cargo data to test the integration with ASYHUB and the customs authorities. Other trade information providers are also included as the supported solution is open to all interested parties.

In Component 3 awareness raising and upscaling are foreseen. The two pilot countries will share their experiences with other customs authorities to initiate an uptake of the approach in further countries.

BENEFITS

  • The access to digital information will allow customs authorities to process cargo prior to arrival and departure.
  • Customs authorities can determine earlier which goods to inspect, and which to release. It makes the work of customs officers easier and allows them to focus their time on relevant checks instead of handling paperwork.
  • Businesses know whether a container will be released upon arrival/departure or whether it will be physically inspected at the port. Thus, they can plan further logistics handling ahead of time.
  • All in all, this reduces the time and costs of maritime trade for importers, exporters and customs authorities.

FIND OUT MORE

The project partners from Sri Lanka Customs, the General Department of Customs and Excise of Cambodia, TradeLens, UNCTAD and GIZ discuss what they expect from the DGMT project and which benefits the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) sees in the project’s public-private structure at the Virtual High Level Forum 2020, organised by the German Alliance for Trade Facilitation.

Photo credits header: Tom Fisk/pexels.com

Relation to the Trade Facilitation Agreement

This project contributes towards the implementation of the following article of the World Trade Organization (WTO) Agreement on Trade Facilitation:

  • Article 7.1: Release and Clearance of Goods: Pre-arrival Processing
  • Article 7.4: Release and Clearance of Goods: Risk Management

How to get involved

Do you work for a company with international supply chains? Please contact us if you would like to learn more about the project and the Alliance.

CEREN ERDOGAN

COMPONENT LEAD

Germany

ceren.erdogan@giz.de

FELIX WENDT

PROJECT MANAGER

Thailand

felix.wendt@giz.de

CHRISTOPHER SMITH

PROJECT MANAGER

Germany

christopher.smith@giz.de

giz-logo

In Umsetzung
Asien
Kambodscha, Sri Lanka

Digitising Global Maritime Trade

KONTEXT

Das internationale Handelsvolumen wächst stetig. Während die Zahl der Sendungen jedes Jahr zunimmt, bleibt die Kapazität der Grenzbehörden meist unverändert. Das führt zu einer hohen Auslastung für Zoll und Häfen. Derzeit basieren die Freigabeprozesse in Kambodscha und Sri Lanka auf Papierdokumenten. Mit den wachsenden Sendungszahlen stoßen papierbasierte Verfahren an ihre Grenzen und hindern einen schnelleren Fluss von Waren. Die Erleichterung des Handels ist für Kambodscha und Sri Lanka wichtig, um mit den globalen Lieferketten Schritt zu halten und so ihre wirtschaftliche Entwicklung zu fördern.

Die Zollbehörden von Kambodscha und Sri Lanka erhalten relevante Informationen zur Seefracht (z. B. Frachtmanifest, Ursprungszeugnis) 24 Stunden vor der Ankunft eines Containerschiffs. So bleibt nur eine kurze Zeitspanne, um Kontrollen zur Freigabe der Ware durchzuführen. Alle Informationen sind jedoch bereits viele Wochen im Voraus anderen Akteur*innen in der Lieferkette bekannt, wie z.B. den Export-Unternehmen oder Reedereien. Derzeit werden diese Informationen nicht an die Zollbehörden weitergegeben. Daher können sie ihre Abfertigungsprozesse nicht im Voraus planen. Der ineffiziente Umgang mit Daten führt zu Wartezeiten für Unternehmen und verhindert den reibungslosen Warenfluss – was zu erhöhten Kosten für Unternehmen und den Zoll selbst führt.

WAS WIR TUN

Im Projekt „Digitising Global Maritime Trade“ (DGMT) arbeiten Partner*innen aus dem öffentlichen und privaten Sektor zusammen, um den digitalen Zugang des Zolls zu Seefrachtinformationen in Kambodscha und Sri Lanka zu verbessern. Die Zollbehörden können diese Daten verwenden, um Risikoanalysen durchzuführen und den Abfertigungsprozess noch vor Ankunft der Waren im Hafen zu planen. Kern des Projekts ist die Beratung bei der Konzeption und Implementierung digitaler Verfahren, die eine risikobasierte Abfertigung von Seefracht vor der Ein- und Ausfuhr von Waren ermöglichen (Pre-Arrival und Pre-Departure Processing). Die Projektaktivitäten lassen sich in drei Komponenten unterteilen.

In Komponente 1 (abgeschlossen) wurde die Software ASYHUB Maritime von der United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) entwickelt. Die Software ermöglicht den digitalen Austausch von Vorab-Seefrachtinformationen mit den Zollbehörden in Sri Lanka und Kambodscha. Beide Ländern nutzen bereits ASYCUDAWorld und Plattformen für Frachtdaten, wie z.B. TradeLens. 

Nach dem Testen des ASYHUB-Systems begann die Pilotierung und ist derzeit noch unter Komponente 2 in Umsetzung. Um sicherzustellen, dass die neuen digitalen Prozesse allen Anforderungen gerecht werden, wird das aktuelle organisatorische und operative Umfeld der Zollbehörden analysiert. Die Analyse umfasst auch die vorhandene IT-Infrastruktur und den regulatorischen Rahmen des Landes. Als nächster Schritt nach der Bewertung wird eine maßgeschneiderte Version der Software in der Betriebsumgebung der Zollbehörden bereitgestellt.

Die Pilot-Phase umfasst zudem Schulungen für Zollbeamt*innen sowie für Interessenvertreter*innen des Privatsektors. Über alle Aktivitäten hinweg erleichtert das Projekt den Austausch zwischen dem öffentlichen und privaten Sektor, Änderungen in bestehenden Prozessen berücksichtigen stets beide Perspektiven.

Die Plattform TradeLens deckt mehr als die Hälfte des globalen Containerhandels ab und engagiert sich seit Projektbeginn als Partner*in. Im Rahmen des Projekts liefert TradeLens erweiterte Seefrachtdaten, um die Integration mit ASYHUB und den Zollbehörden zu testen. Andere Handelsinformationsanbieter sind ebenfalls Teil des Projekts, die Software-Lösung steht allen interessierten Parteien offen.

In Komponente 3 sind Sensibilisierung und Upscaling ein integraler Bestandteil. Die beiden Pilotländer werden ihre Erfahrungen mit anderen Zollbehörden teilen, um eine Erweiterung des Ansatzes auf weitere Länder zu initiieren.

VORTEILE

  • Der Zugang zu digitalen Informationen wird es den Zollbehörden ermöglichen, Fracht vor der Ankunft und Abreise zu bearbeiten.
  • Zollbehörden können früher bestimmen, welche Sendung geprüft und welche freigegeben werden soll. Es erleichtert die Arbeit der Zollbeamt*innen und ermöglicht es ihnen, ihre Zeit auf relevante Kontrollen zu konzentrieren, anstatt Papierarbeit zu erledigen.
  • Unternehmen wissen im Voraus, ob ein Container bei der Ankunft/Abfahrt freigegeben wird oder ob er im Hafen physisch inspiziert wird. So können sie die weitere logistische Abwicklung frühzeitig planen.
  • Insgesamt reduziert dies den Zeit- und Kostenaufwand des Seehandels für Import- und Exportunternehmen sowie für die Zollbehörden.

ERFAHREN SIE MEHR

Die Projektpartner von Sri Lanka Customs, dem General Department of Customs and Excise of Cambodia, TradeLens, UNCTAD und GIZ diskutieren auf dem Virtual High Level Forum 2020 der Deutschen Allianz für Handelserleichterungen, was sie vom DGMT-Projekt erwarten und welchen Nutzen das Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) in der öffentlich-privaten Struktur des Projekts sieht.

Bildquelle Header: Tom Fisk/pexels.com

Bezug zum Abkommen über Handelserleichterungen

Das Projekt trägt zur Umsetzung der folgenden Artikel des Abkommens für Handelserleichterungen der Welthandelsorganisation bei:

  • Artikel 7.1: Freigabe und Abfertigung von Waren: „Pre-Arrival“ Zollabfertigung
  • Artikel 7.4: Freigabe und Abfertigung von Waren: Risiko Management

Wie Sie sich beteiligen können

Sie arbeiten bei einem Unternehmen mit internationalen Lieferketten? Kontaktieren Sie uns gerne, wenn Sie mehr über das Projekt und die Allianz erfahren möchten.

CEREN ERDOGAN

KOMPONENTENLEITUNG

Deutschland

ceren.erdogan@giz.de

FELIX WENDT

PROJEKTMANAGER

Thailand

felix.wendt@giz.de

CHRISTOPHER SMITH

PROJEKTMANAGER

Deutschland

christopher.smith@giz.de

giz-logo